Wrestling Wins NCWA Southwest Conference Championship

Wrestling Wins NCWA Southwest Conference Championship

DALLAS, TX: The Schreiner University Men's and Women's Wrestling teams earned NCWA Southwestern Conference Titles after both programs won their respective tournaments. This is the team's first year of competition.

WOMEN: The Mountaineers had five female student-athletes competing in the tournament. These women all finished as conference champions and qualified for this year's national tournament: 
109-Alicia Messer
116-Allie Mahoe Way
130-Serena Cervantes
191-Miriam Delagarza
HWT-Alyssa Alveraz

MEN: Schreiner had eight men qualify for finals our of 11 weight classes. Six of these student-athletes finished as conference champions: 
125 Isaac Stalcup
133 Camron Rodriguez
165 Alex Alberto
184 Brett Barefoot
197 TiRyek West
235 Robert Hernandez 

Runner ups were 125 Allen Rapollo who had a medical forfeit in finals, and 141 Derek Reyna.
Placing third was 125 Ivan Ozuna, 141 Jesus Cervantes, HWT Jacob Cuellar.
Placing fourth was 141 Hunter Stinnett , Nick Hammond, and HWT Josh Tatman.
The team qualified 14 wrestlers for this year's national tournament. 

Head Coach, Troy Jewell received the Head Coach of the Year Award in the conference. 


The University of Texas
The University of Texas at Arlington
University of North Texas 
Texas A&M
Texas Tech University
Texas State University 
Missouri University of Science and Technology
University of Houston-Downtown
Richland College
Wayne State University
University of Colorado